Skip to content

FR 1927. Dir: Abel Gance. Silent film. Music: Carl Davis​. 2 x 165 min. Original version with Engl. subtitles

In 1939, Siegfried Kracauer saw in it “beauty and tastelessness, real content and empty pomposity”; in 1955, François Truffaut celebrated it as a “long lyric poem, a bouquet of climaxes, a succession of moving reliefs.” The film – Napoleon, the silent masterpiece by Abel Gance that made him immortal as a filmmaker – was presented again for the first time after years of work in 1980 by Kevin Brownlow in a restored version with an orchestral score by Carl Davis and celebrated new triumphs.

Abel Gance leaves behind an epoch-making work of art. Gance, who radically expanded the boundaries of the medium film with sophisticated montage, distorting mirrors, multiple exposures and triple screens, died 40 years ago on November 10, 1981 in Paris.
The five-and-a-half-hour epic, originally conceived by the director as the first of six films about Napoleon, presents historical episodes from his personal and political life in full extent, from the French Revolution to the heroic arrival of French troops in Italy, which marked the beginning of the first Italian campaign of 1796. Abel Gance’s Napoleon, which employs a series of groundbreaking camera and editing techniques, offers one of the most rewarding and exciting experiences in the history of cinema, a brilliant marriage of music and film comparable in intensity to grand opera and featuring dazzling scenes of unparalleled brilliance.

In Kooperation mit arabesques


QR Code

Datum

25. Nov. 2021
Expired!

Uhrzeit

17:00

error: Content is protected !!

FR 1927. Regie: Abel Gance. Stummfilm. Musik: Carl Davis​. 2 x 165 min. OmeU

Siegfried Kracauer sah in ihm 1939 »Schönheit und Geschmacklosigkeit, echten Gehalt und leeren Schwulst«, François Truffaut feierte es 1955 als »langes lyrisches Gedicht, einen Strauß aus Höhepunkten, eine Folge von bewegten Reliefs«. Der Film – Napoleon, das Stummfilm-Meisterwerk von Abel Gance, das ihn als Filmmacher unsterblich machte – wurde nach jahrelanger Arbeit 1980 von Kevin Brownlow erstmals wieder in einer restaurierten Fassung mit einem Orchester-Score von Carl Davis präsentiert und feierte neue Triumphe.

Obwohl oder gerade weil sich der innovative Filmpionier Abel Gance in unvorstellbarem Maß mit seinem Helden identifizierte, hinterlässt er ein epochales Kunstwerk. Gance, der mit raffinierter Montage, Zerrspiegeln, Mehrfachbelichtung und Dreifachleinwand radikal die Grenzen des Mediums Film erweiterte, starb vor 40 Jahren am 10. November 1981 in Paris.
Das fünfeinhalbstündige Epos, das vom Regisseur ursprünglich als erster von sechs Filmen über Napoleon konzipiert wurde, zeigt historische Episoden aus dessen persönlichen und politischen Leben in vollem Umfang, von der Französischen Revolution bis zur heldenhaften Ankunft der französischen Truppen in Italien, die den Beginn des ersten Italienfeldzugs von 1796 markierte. Abel Gances Napoleon, der eine Reihe bahnbrechender Kamera- und Schnitttechniken einsetzt, bietet eines der lohnendsten und aufregendsten Erlebnisse in der Geschichte des Kinos, eine brillante Verbindung von Musik und Film, die in ihrer Intensität mit der großen Oper vergleichbar ist und umwerfende Szenen von unvergleichlicher Brillanz bietet.

In Kooperation mit arabesques


QR Code

Datum

25. Nov. 2021
Abgelaufene Events

Uhrzeit

17:00
Kommunales Kino Metropolis

Ort

Kommunales Kino Metropolis
Kleine Theaterstr. 10, 20354 Hamburg
cinefest - Internationales Festival des deutschen Film-Erbes

Veranstalter

cinefest - Internationales Festival des deutschen Film-Erbes
Phone
+49-40-352194
E-Mail
info@cinefest.de
Website
http://www.cinefest.de